History of APF

Related Documentation:

> 1927 polo rules book

Get Acrobat Reader
These files require freeware Acrobat Reader.
If you don't have it, please click on the icon to download.
It is estimated the Australian Polo Federation (APF), or Australian Polo Council as it was known until 2012, was founded in 1924.  The first President was CF Palmer in 1938.

The Australasian Gold Cup was donated to the national body and first contested in 1925. The trophy was donated by a South Australian upper house member, Tony Melrose and a NSW retailer and pastoralist Tony Hordern.

The APF has selected representative teams to take part in international matches both in Australia and overseas. Since the early 1970's Australia has hosted an annual Test Match in Sydney over Easter. This was played at the grounds at Warwick Farm racecourse for nearly 30 years until it was moved to Windsor Polo Club at Richmond in 2002. Overseas internationals include the prestigious Coronation Cup in England, the BMW Internationals in South Africa, the FIP Snow Polo World Cup in China and the FIP World Cup Polo Championships. Further information on these can be found on the website under Tournaments & Trophies and International.

In 1984 The Federation of International Polo (FIP) was founded and Australia was one of the early members.  In 1986 the first  FIP World Championship of Polo at 14 Goal level was held and Australia beat Nigeria in the final of the Zone D (Australasia, Africa, Asia and Oceania) and competed in the finals series at Buenos Aires playing on the famous Palermo fields. 

In 2001 Australia hosted the FIP World Cup Polo Championship in Melbourne and in its best result so far Australia was runner-up narrowly losing by one goal to Brazil.

In 2008 the APF became an incorporated company and gained recognition by the Australian Sports Commission as the national governing body of the sport of polo.

In 2012 the Australian Polo Council had a change of name and new logo and became known as the Australian Polo Federation.

Australian Polo Federation Past Presidents:

1938  C.F. Palmer
1939 - 48  WWII
1949 - 51  J.E. Murray
1952 - 54  J.H.Ashton
1955  R.E. Porter
1956 A.A. Hardie
1957 - 58 J.H. Ashton
1959 - 61  C.C. Kelly
1962  J.E.F. Mann
1963 - 70  F.L. Bragg
1971 - 75 J.W. Kelly
1976 - 79  A.G. McGregor
1980 - 85  S.McWilliam
1986 - 87  J.Kilmartin
1988 - 91  A.A. McLachlan
1992 - 94  C.P. Abbott
1995  - 98  I.F. McGuiness
1999 – 02  J.W. Ashton
2003 - 04  W.J.T. Clarke
2004 -09  L.B. Reardon
2010 – 11  L.H. Cameron
2011 – 2013  J.W. Taylor
2013 - 2019 W.J.T. Clarke
2020 - To present -  S. Philip